Mentoring Monday: Minors

Minors
Theresa Whitehead, School of Music Mentor

There are many minors available here at West Chester University. To give you an idea:
whitehead1
Found at http://www.wcupa.edu/_information/official.documents/undergrad.catalog/acpolpro.htm#minors

Minors offered within the School of Music include Music, Jazz Studies, Music History, & the newly added Music Performance Minor.

While classes for a minor may be difficult to fit into your schedule at times, it’s completely possible. The key is to prioritize, work with your advisor, & have the passion to complete it.

How do you add/drop/or switch a minor? There is a form that you fill out from the office of the Registrar. This form gets signed by your current advisor, future minor advisor, and department chair. Once it is returned to the office of the Registrar, your account will be changed online. After this, you follow the courses in your minor outline and work with your major and minor advisors to stay on the right track.

Pros to having a minor:

  • Being able to still do/learn about something you love without taking on a full major
  • Minors allow you to be more versatile in a job market
  • You are able to broaden your horizons

Cons to having a minor:

  • It is sometimes difficult to fit the 18 credits to complete a minor into your major schedule
  • More work to do

Ultimately, you are the one who knows your limits & capabilities. If a minor is something that interests you, talk to your advisor to see if it’s possible! Regardless, you cannot declare a minor until your second semester of college. Take your time to decide what will work best for you.

A little personal story – in the spring semester of my freshmen year I declared a theatre minor. Theatre has always been a very big part of my life & I didn’t want to let go of that (It was also an easy decision for me because I came to WCU with 22 credits I took as dual enrollment while in high school). I took one class towards that minor, joined the university theatre club, & auditioned for productions. However, the more I started volunteering with children with disabilities at school & home, the more I knew it is something I want to do for the rest of my life. I realized that I was tired of music major schedules & theatre major schedules clashing far too much for me to make my theatre minor work out. In the fall of my junior year, I talked to my advisors & decided to switch my minor to Special Education. It was a decision I am very glad I made. I sometimes find it challenging to create a schedule that fits both my major & minor requirements, but I am glad I made the decision all the same.

Leave a Reply

